Skip to main content

University Advancement Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UASC.UA.015

Scope and Contents

The University Advancement Records consist of textual, photographic, audiovisual, and ephemeral materials reflecting the development, publicity, philanthropy, and fundraising activities at the University of Texas at Tyler from 1981 through 2013. Significant subjects represented in the collection include the Eisenhower International Golf Classic, the Patriot Golf Classic, the Distinguished Lecture Series and ancillary educational lecture series, the establishment of UT Tyler’s engineering program, the UT Tyler Friends of the Arts group, Tyler Sister Cities, and the University’s transition to a four year university. Materials include correspondence, brochures, newsletters, magazines, newspaper clippings, event publicity materials, meeting minutes, event invitations, financial reports, institutional self-studies, photographs, slides, negatives, cassette tapes, VHS tapes, framed certificates, commemorative plaques, and a floppy disc.


  • Creation: 1981-2013
  • Creation: Majority of material found in 1980-2019
  • Other: Date acquired: 2013-05-29 Secondary collection acquired: June 2019


Biographical or Historical Information

The Office of University Advancement manages development efforts and alumni relations for the University of Texas at Tyler. Its primary functions include fundraising activities, special events, and alumni engagement. The Office of University Advancement originated in 1976, as the Texas Eastern University (TEU) Board of Regents Special Committee on Gifts and Scholarships. The Committee comprised all members of the Board of regents, including H.J. McKenzie (Chair), C. Quentin Abernathy, Jeff Austin, Jr., David K. McKie, B. H. McVicker, M.D., Jack C. Morgan, Robert G. Schleier, Dean W. Turner, and Neal E. Velvin. In 1976, Gerald L. Morris, Ph.D., joined the TEU Administrative Council as the Director of Institutional Planning and Analysis. The Special Committee was disbanded on August 31, 1979 when TEU joined the University of Texas System. Dr. Gerald Morris continued to serve as Director of Institutional Planning & Analysis for the University of Texas at Tyler (UT Tyler) campus. In 1981, Dr. Morris accepted a faculty appointment in the Department of Mathematics. Vivian A. Hicks, Ph.D, was named Director of the newly established Office of Development. Dr. Hicks left the Office of Development in 1984. Joy Turns, B.A., M. Ed replaced Dr. Hicks as Director in advance of the 1986 school year. Evelyn Muntz, M.L.A. joined the Office of Development as Associate Director in advance of the 1990 school year. After UT Tyler’s expansion to a four year university in 1998, Joy Turns Duncan continued as Director of Development. She was replaced by former Cowan Center director Mary Untersee Irwin in 1999. Mrs. Irwin was named Vice President for University Advancement in 2001. After her retirement from the university in 2004, Mary Irwin and her husband Bob Irwin were named 2004’s Patriots of the Year. Nancy Lamar served as Executive Director of University Advancement from 2004 through 2006. Upon her resignation, President Rodney H. Mabry named Deanna M. Sims interim executive director. In January 2007, Jerre K. Iversen was named Vice President for University Advancement. Deanna Sims continued with the department as Assistant Vice President. Note written by Samantha Winn.


28.40 Linear Feet

1.00 Items

1.00 Folders

2.00 Items

2.00 Items

3.40 Linear Feet

25.00 Linear Feet

Language of Materials



The University Advancement Records are divided into seven series, reflecting the original divisions implemented by the Office of University Advancement. Original order has been maintained within each series. Series I: General Advancement, represents the core series of the collection. Series I includes four sub-series based on material type: Sub-Series A: Text; Sub-Series B: Photographs; Sub-Series C: Audiovisual; Sub-Series D: Awards. Audiovisual materials were received in no discernible order. They have been grouped according to likeness. Subsequent series include Series II: Distinguished Lecture Series; Series III: Eisenhower International Golf Classic; Series IV: Engineering Program; Series V: Friends of the Arts; Series VI: Four Year Status; Series VII: Tyler Sister Cities.

Technical Access Requirements

Some audiovisual items may require special equipment to view.

Custodial History

Materials in this collection were directly managed by the Office of University Advancement until being transfered to the University Archives in 2013.

Source of Acquisition

Deanna Sims and Brenda Cantley, Office of University Advancement

Method of Acquisition

UASC staff acquired twenty-six boxes of materials from the Office of University Advancement during the summer of 2013. Materials were arranged in four separate accessions.

Accruals and Additions

Accession 1(UA.2013.003, May 29, 2013). Accession 2 (UA.2013.008, July 11, 2013). Accession 3 (UA.2013.008, July 24, 2013). Accession 4 (UA.2013.008, August 2013).

Related Materials

Related materials may be found in the Marketing and Communications Records (UASC.UA.003), the Eisenhower International Golf Classic Records (UASC.UA.009), the Sister Cities Records (UASC.UA.011), and the Distinguished Lecture Series Records (UASC.UA.012) located in The University Archives and Special Collections Department, Robert R. Muntz Library, The University of Texas at Tyler, Tyler, TX, USA.

Processing Information

Newspaper clippings and other heavily acidic materials were photocopied. UASC staff weeded several duplicate items in Series I: General Advancement and Series II: Distinguished Lecture Series.

Madison Isenberg
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the The University of Texas at Tyler University Archives and Special Collections Department Repository