Skip to main content

Distinguished Lecture Series Records

 Collection — Multiple Containers
Identifier: UASC.UA.012

Scope and Contents

The Distinguished Lecture Series collection covers fundraising, administrative, advertising, and logistical details of the Distinguished Lecture series at the University of Texas at Tyler between 1983 and 2010. The collection contains textual materials (including correspondence, newsletter, mailing lists, meeting minutes, brochures and mailers, application forms, invoices, guest lists, notes, news clippings, press releases, and speaker dossiers), audiovisual materials (VHS tapes of select lectures), and photographs. A small amount of autographed memorabilia is present.


  • Creation: 1983-2010
  • Creation: Majority of material found in 1983-2005
  • Other: Date acquired: 2011-03-03


Conditions Governing Access

Some restrictions may apply. Please contact the repository for more details.

Biographical or Historical Information

The University of Texas at Tyler partnered with the Smith County Medical Society-Auxiliary to establish the Distinguished Lecture Series (DLS) in 1982. The DLS served as both a venue for bringing nationally recognized speakers to a Tyler audience and a source of revenue for UT Tyler endowed scholarships. Major supporters of the Distinguished Lecture Series have included Rosemary and Harold Beaird; Lawrence Anderson , M.D., and Sasha Vukelja, M.D.; Louise and Joseph Z. Ornelas; Sherilyn and Patrick Willis; Margaret and James I. Perkins; and the A.W. Riter Jr. Family Foundation.  DLS has been further supported over the years by the UT Tyler Friends of the Arts and private donors. Prior to the completion of the R. Don Cowan Fine and Performing Arts Center in 1997, Distinguished Lecture Series events were held in the University Center. Events typically include a public lecture and private fundraising reception. Featured guests have included:                                                                     1982-1983: F. Lee Bailey, William F. Buckley, Jr., and Arthur B. Laffer. 1983-1984: Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., Camelia Sadat (replacing Bettina Gregory), and Stansfield Turner. 1984-1985: Malcolm Toon, Jody Powell, and Admiral James Stockdale (replacing  General William C. Westmoreland). 1985-1986: Lewis A. Tambs, Geroge F. Will, and Carlos Fuentes. 1986-1987: David Eisenhower, Edward Teller, Beverly Sills, and Eugene McCarthy. 1987-1988: Dr. Henry Kissinger, Robert S. Strauss, and John Palmer. 1988-1989: Jeane Kirkpatrick, Pierre Salinger, and Richard Valeriani (replacing Tom Wolfe). 1989-1990: Abba Eban, Alexander Haig, and Tom Wolfe. 1990-1991: Thomas P. “Tip” O’Neill, Jr., Jane Bryant Quinn, and Mark Russell. 1991-1992: Zbigniew Brzezinski, Judy Woodruff, and Ed Koch. 1992-1993: Andrew Rooney, Coretta Scott King, and Dick Cheney (replacing Willy Brandt). 1993-1994: Larry King, Irving R. Levine, Oscar Arias, and J. David Swaim, Jr. 1994-1995: Elie Wiesel, General Brent Scowcroft, and Hugh Downs. 1995-1996: Jack Kemp, Cokie Roberts, and Sam Donaldson (replacing Bill Moyers). 1996-1997: William Kristol , Gerry Spence, and John McClaughlin. 1997-1998: Senator Alan Simpson, Catherine Crier, and F.W. DeKlerk. 1998-1999: David Gergen, Shimon Peres, and George Stephanopoulos (replacing Dr. Gail Wilensky). 1999-2000: Dr. Gail Wilensky, Buzz Aldrin and Greg Gumbel. 2000-2001: Alan Dershowitz, Ambassador Alan Keyes, and Hamilton Jordan. 2001-2002: Bill O’Reilly and James Carville. 2002-2003: Robert Novak/Bill Press and Steve Forbes. 2003-2004: Ann Compton (replacing General Wesley Clark) and Colonel Oliver North. 2004-2005: J.C. Watts and John Stossel. 2005-2006: Ann Coulter and Martin Luther King III. 2006-2007: President George H.W. Bush. 2007-2008: Ambassador John Bolton and Dr. Sallie Baliunas. 2008-2009: President Vicente Fox. 2009-2010: Dr. Walter Williams and Greg Mortenson. 2010-2011: President Oscar Arias, President George W. Bush, and Jon Landau. 2011-2012: Senator Fred Thompson and P.J. O’Rourke. 2012-2013: Ambassador Karen Hughes and Dr. John Carlos. Note written by Samantha Winn.


11.40 Linear Feet

3 boxes and 124 VHS tapes other_unmapped

120.00 Items

1.25 Linear Feet

27.00 Items

Language of Materials



The collection is arranged in three series: Series I, Administrative Documents; Series II, Photographs; and Series III, Audiovisual Materials.

Technical Access Requirements

Audiovisual materials may require special equipment to view.

Source of Acquisition

Office of Development

Method of Acquisition

Materials which had previously been stored at the physical plant were transferred to the archives as part of a general University Archives accession. Distinguished Lecture Series records were separated from this general accession to create a new record group.

Related Materials

The University of Texas at Tyler department of Educational Technology Services is currently digitizing select VHS tapes from the Distinguished Lecture Series records for public view. Users can request access to digitized materials by emailing

Samantha Winn
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the The University of Texas at Tyler University Archives and Special Collections Department Repository